Posted by: Joe English | June 28, 2007

Training: Should I run when I’m sick?

It seems that the Summer cold and flu season has arrived once again. Personally, I’ve had a cold all week and I just haven’t been up to running. But I get asked the question all of the time: “should I run when I’m sick?”

First, the biggest issue that most runners have here is that they are worried about losing performance by taking a few days off to get over a cold or flu. Let’s just put that to rest at the outset. You won’t lose fitness by taking a short break for the flu or a cold (or even a minor injury). It takes an extended period of time for you to see a drop in your fitness, usually two to three weeks. So put that out of your head.

A couple of days off, in fact, may do a lot of people some good, because most runners are on the verge of over-training most of the time. A few days down in bed, even when sick, can be a well deserved mental and physical break.

But going back to being sick, there is a simple rule: if you’re sick from the neck up only then you can probably still run. If you’re sick from the neck down, then you absolutely should not run.

Sick from the neck up, would mean stuffy noses, sore throats, and head-colds.

Sick from the neck down, means fevers, body ache, stomach flus and any whole body illness. Any of these symptoms mean that your immune system is compromised and working hard to get you well. A workout will just set you back in your recovery.

In particular, you should never run with a fever. The risk of damage to your heart is a real issue and this could lead to life-long consequences.

In general, you should always listen to your body. If you’re sick, then you more than likely should take the time off to get better. I usually recommend that people wait until they are at least 80-90% back to their normal energy level before they return to running.

Today, for example, I have a head-cold and I’m feeling only about 50% recovered. So even though I probably could run (I’m sick only from the neck up), I’ll most likely take another day off to recover. In the long-run, it won’t have an impact on my performance, but if it helps me avoid a relapse then it will be worth it.

If you’re reading this and you’re sick: I hope that you feel better soon!

Coach Joe English, Portland Oregon, USA
Running Advice and News
http://www.running-advice.com

Responses

  1. The day before a race back in April I started feeling bad … and this race was my first 5K in a while, my first 5K after training for a half marathon and I had high hopes. That morning I had a temperature of 101. It was horrible and it was the first race I missed. It was when I first started blogging too: http://lynchburgrunner.blogspot.com/2007/04/running-while-sick-just-avoid-it.html

  2. David:
    Yeah, you said it – racing while sick just doesn’t work. You just can’t get the body to perform well when sick.

    Racing with a fever is just something to avoid. (period)

    Coach Joe

  3. Thanks! Good rule to follow. I’m still unsure though. I have a really sore throat, stuffy nose, and I’m feeling a little tired. I’ve also lost my appetite (which is very unusual for me). I don’t know if I have a fever – no thermometer. I skipped cross training, but I’m supposed to run hills tonight. Should I go to my workout? I’m getting ready for my first marathon and I’m supposed to run 10 – 12 miles on Saturday.

  4. [...] Training: Take care of yourselves runners! Posted on December 13, 2007 by coachjoeenglish It seems like a lot of us runners have this image of ourselves: we’re fit and healthy and somehow that makes us just a little bit invincible. I get asked many times a year whether runners should run when they are sick. In fact, it’s such a common question that I actually have some guidance on the subject, which you can read in an article called “should I run when I’m sick.” [...]

  5. i feel already so much better…cheers.

  6. Thank you so much. I was getting worried about my half marathon training but now I feel more confident and will enjoy recuperating without the guilt and worry!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,528 other followers

