Posted by: Joe English | December 16, 2007

Training Diaries: Coach Joe’s Boston Marathon Training Week 3-5

Somehow the last few Sunday’s have been busy enough that I haven’t been able to write in my Boston training diaries. I’ll get you up-to-date here with a snapshot of the last couple of weeks.

Coach Joe on the Wildwood Trail this Fall

Weeks 3 and 4 were actually pretty good. I spent the timing increasing the distance of my runs and getting a little more agressive with my pacing. In week 3, Andy and I ran 8 miles together at an astonishingly conisistent pace. We were running two-mile laps around the Nike Campus and found ourselves hitting each lap with a few seconds of the last.

After the run in week 3, the rains started coming down. I’m sure you read about the rain-storm that we had here in Oregon. It literally started raining as we were getting in our cars after our run on Saturday and then didn’t stop until Tuesday night. I don’t have a real problem running in the rain, but this rain was SOOOOO hard that I took a pass for those couple of days. The rains eventually cleared up and I was able to get right back to it.

Last weekend, I ran about 11 miles for my long run at a decent pace. It was a gloriously sunny day, but it was cold (for Portland anyway). I ate a couple of Gus on this run, the first Gus of the training season and they gave me a little bit of an upset stomach afterward. I probably didn’t drink enough water with them, so I’ll have to work on that today when I run long.

This past week was the week of my miserable allergic reaction and hives. You may have read my article about being sick. If not, read my article which is a reminder that we need to take care of ourselves. I’m glad to say that I’m feeling much better now and ready to get back to it.

In other news, it looks like I will be in Arizona for the PF Chang’s Rock N Roll Arizona Marathon in January, so I’m looking at working the half-marathon into my schedule. And I’ll also be running the Ragnar Arizona relay this Spring with my friend Coach Dean’s team. I have to work these two races into my schedule and that may take some juggling. But I’m sure that I’ll be good and ready for Boston come marathon time in April.

I have a lot of good content on top this week on Running Advice and News. I’ll be writing my 2007 Marathon Year in Review series and awarding my 2007 Product of the Year. Check back for those stories and more.

Want to join me at the Boston Marathon, read more about my Boston Marathon Training Program by clicking here.

Coach Joe English, Portland Oregon, USA
for Running Advice and News (www.running-advice.com)

Leave a Reply

Categories

