Posted by: Joe English | January 15, 2008

Interview: Sally Meyerhoff after the PF Chang’s Rock N Roll Arizona Marathon

Sally Meyerhoff set out to qualify for the US Olympic Marathon Trials in her debut marathon at PF Chang’s Arizona. Read a pre-race interview with Sally by clicking here. Sally ran well and secured an entry into the trials with her 2:42:45 run through Phoenix, Scottsdale and Tempe.

Sally Meyerhoff at the finish
Photo: Joe English, Running Advice and News

I caught up with Sally at the finish line to ask her about the race.

CJ: Sally, how are you doing?

SM: Oh my gosh!

CJ: That was your first marathon, so how are you feeling?

SM: Very, very tired. My legs feel like they’ve been beaten by sledge-hammers. It was harder than I think I expected and I don’t think I could have run much faster.

CJ: What was it that was harder?

SM: Well, I went through the half right on split and I thought to myself ‘OK, I’m kind of tired, but I think I can do this.” I just kept taking it mile by mile and everything was good. But at mile 20, things got really hard. I just tried to stay motivated by thinking that someone might be coming up on me. The last four miles were so, so hard. I’m happy to be done.

CJ: How did the race unfold in terms of strategy?

SM: I was by myself a lot and at times just a little bit behind someone. I think I raced pretty smart. There were a couple of miles where I ran 5:40s and I’m not sure if that was such a good idea, but it felt good at the time.

CJ: Is your future marathoning?

SM: Don’t ask me that right now (laughing). Ask me in about four hours!

Thanks Sally for talking with us!

Coach Joe English, Portland Oregon, USA
Running Advice and News (www.running-advice.com)

Responses

  1. […] Advice & News from Joe English Interview: Susan Loken, US Women’s Masters Marathon ChampionInterview: Sally Meyerhoff after the PF Chang’s Rock N Roll Arizona MarathonImages from PF Chang’s Rock N Roll Arizona Marathon 2008Races: New Zealand’s Asish and […]

  2. […] Sally Meyerhoff, USA, finished forth and was the first American women to finish in 1:12:52. (click here to read an interview with Sally Meyeroff we conducted earlier this […]

  3. […] She may have been a tough competitor, but she was a bright, funny and caring person. She lit up when asked if her future would include marathon running, saying “Don’t ask me that right now (laughing). Ask me in […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

