Posted by: Joe English | April 16, 2008

Boston Profile: Duane Slade, Mesa Arizona

Duane SladeHere’s the second of our Boston Profiles, in which we look at first-time Boston Marathon runners all this week. The answers were provided by the runners themselves, without any editing on our part. We wish all Boston first-timers good luck on Monday and hope they enjoy their big moment!

Name: Duane Slade
Home town: Mesa, Arizona

At which marathon did you qualify for Boston and what was your time?
I qualified at the St. George Marathon in St. George, Utah. I ran in it in a time of 3:10:00 in 2007.

How many marathons have you run?
Boston will be my 9th marathon.

What is your goal at the Boston Marathon?
I want to try to finish the race in 3:15:00, which is my qualifying time — so that I can have the opportunity to come again if I love it as much as I think I will.

What does is mean to you to be going to Boston Marathon?
I think this is just going to be an awesome experience, no matter how I do on race day. Boston is the ‘Daddy’ of all Marathons and I’m so excited to be a part of it.

What are you most looking forward to at the Boston Marathon?
Running with such a large group of runners, so many of whom are faster than me. It’s an honor to be there at Boston, but I know that there are tons and tons of fast people there. It’ll be amazing to be in that field with all of those quick guys and gals out there.

Do you have a picture of how the day will unfold? If so, what’s it look like?
I don’t really have a picture of it in my head. I’m trying to imagine my previous races and then pumping the volume out like a thousand times. I know it will be chaotic with all of the spectators lining the course out there. I’m just going to go into this with my eyes open and just experience the day as it unfolds.

Anything you’d like to add?
I have been running marathons for about 8 years and right after my first one I knew I wanted to qualify to run Boston. I was about 40 lbs heavier and ran 9 minute miles. I printed my qualifying time and put it above my computer so I would look at it every day. In the back of my mind I thought it was unrealistic for me to run 7:20’s for 26.2 miles. I kept working with coach Dean and eventually my times started to come down.

I still was carrying the extra 40 lbs, but I was getting faster anyway. About three years ago I realized that if I would just lose weight that I would probably run faster. So I met with a nutritionist and started to change my eating habits. The weight started to come off and I started to run faster. I went from 222 lbs down to 195 lbs and my marathon time went from a 3:50 to a 3:19. This was it, I found out what the secret was. So by the time the next race came around I was down to 180 lbs and my marathon time was a 3:10. I had done it. I had qualified for Boston.

It was a lot of hard work, but I’ve finally done it. Now all that is left to do is to run the race! exciting huh?

Good luck Duane in the race on Monday. We’ll let you know how he did! You can visit Duane’s blog at duaneslade.wordpress.com

Running Advice and News
http://www.running-advice.com

Responses

  1. […] Anyway, you can check it out by clicking here. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

