Posted by: Joe English | May 28, 2008

Racing: Ivuti, Aish and Yego lead strong field in 2008 Rock N Roll Marathon

Ivuti wins in ChicagoSAN DIEGO — An international field of elite athletes will take to San Diego’s streets for the 11th Annual Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon on Sunday, June 1, 2008. The men’s elite division will be lead by the reigning 2007 Chicago Marathon champion Patrick Ivuti of Kenya. Ivuti joins an exciting men’s field that includes defending San Diego champion Daniel Yego of Kenya and Olympian Michael Aish of New Zealand.

“We’re delighted to have an athlete of Patrick’s caliber come to San Diego,” said Matt Turnbull, Athlete Coordinator for Elite Racing. “Obviously we were sympathetic that he wasn’t able to compete in Boston, but he was in fantastic shape leading up to that race and we know that he will create an exciting competition on June 1st.”

Romanian Nuta Olaru, coming off a top ten finish at the Boston Marathon, leads the women’s field, which is looking to crown a new San Diego champion.

The runners will compete for a total prize purse of over $170,000 with the winner in each division taking home $35,000.

“I am delighted to come back to San Diego to defend my Rock ‘n Roll marathon title,” said defending men’s champion Daniel Yego. “I ran 2:09.04 last year and hope to go much faster this year. As the organizers have put together a very strong line-up, my training has gone well and I think the course record will be in danger.”

Ivuti, 29, is considered one of top marathoners in the world. He would have been a contender for the Kenyan Olympic team had it not been for the bout with Malaria. Ivuti has a marathon best of 2:07:46 which he attained at the Rome Marathon in 2005. Ivuti’s main rivals will be fellow Kenyans. Among them is Yego, who has the advantage of knowing the course.

“I was in good shape and prepared for the Boston Marathon very well,” said Ivuti. “Unfortunately, few days before my flight I started to feel sick, and after a check up I found out I had malaria. I was very surprised at how fast I recovered and after a positive test at the Berlin 25K I have been cleared to run another marathon. I’m thankful for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon to have given me this opportunity and I’ll do my best not disappoint the race fans in San Diego.”

With ten men’s runners entered who have run 2:12 or better, the 2008 Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon should be competitive and compelling.

Stay tuned for complete coverage of the Rock N Roll Marathon from San Diego this weekend.

Running Advice and News
http://www.running-advice.com

Responses

  1. […] Racing: Ivuti, Aish and Yego lead strong field in 2008 Rock N Roll Marathon […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

