Posted by: Joe English | April 30, 2009

Marathon Stories — The Battle of Nashville – Part I

Coach Joe English

Coach Joe English

I first heard about the blisters about a week and a half before the Country Music Marathon in Nashville. It was a routine question I threw out to my group on a conference call, “anyone have anything I should know about?” When Liz said she was having blister problems, I did what any on-line coach would do: I asked for pictures.

In the intervening days, I made sure to re-read both chapters on dealing with blisters in one of my favorite books, Fixing Feet. (Hey, I’m a running coach – that’s the way we roll.) I stocked up my blister control arsenal. In addition to the typical blister pads and blister lubricants that would normally be in my pack, I added the whole spectrum of munitions. From pistols (tape), to machine guns (Spyroflex pads), to missiles (Superglue), to nuclear weapons (duct tape); I had it all. In other words, although I hoped we could keep things at Defcon 3 or below, if we had to go to Defcon 5, I would have the launch codes and keys.

The problem with a blister is simple: something is either rubbing or something is wet. My fear is that I hadn’t figured out what was rubbing and my other – even bigger – fear was that with temperatures that were going to reach into the mid-80s, I knew that even the most docile; the most pleasant; the driest of feet was going to be a sweaty, damp, wet mess. It was going to be a battle. A battle to keep that skin dry, and barring that

Friday Morning
When morning came on Friday, I say down with Liz to do an inspection of the blisters. I had seen the digital photos, so I was partially prepared for what I was about to see. When her socks came off, I was glad to see that her blisters, which I will describe shortly, were at least dry and not actually leaking anything out of them.

To continue reading, click here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

