Posted by: Joe English | May 22, 2009

Races — Paul Tergat to run Rock N Roll Seattle Half Marathon

Paul Tergat wins Lake Biwa 2009

Paul Tergat wins Lake Biwa 2009

SEATTLE -– Five-time World Champion Paul Tergat is going to visit the roads of the Pacific Northwest at the inaugural Rock ‘n’ Roll Seattle Marathon & ½ Marathon on Saturday, June 27. Tergat, 39, is universally regarded as one of the most accomplished long-distance runners in history and will compete in the half marathon ten days after his 40th birthday.

Tergat, two-time Olympic silver medalist, recently won the Lake Biwa Marathon in Japan with a time of 2:10:22. He held the world record in the marathon from 2003 to 2007, as the first runner in history to break 2:05 with a time of 2:04:55.

“I’m excited to be part of the first Rock ‘n’ Roll event in Seattle. I’m very happy with my races in 2009 and I’m hoping that will continue at the end of next month,” said Tergat, who will be running his first race in the U.S. since the ING New York City Marathon last year. “I ran the Rock ‘n’ Roll in Virginia Beach back in 2002 and I’m looking forward to be being part of another great event. I’ve yet to decide on my plans for the rest of the year but I am enjoying my running at the moment and looking forward to a competitive half marathon.”

To continue reading, click here.

Responses

  1. good news


Leave a Reply

Categories

