Posted by: Joe English | October 5, 2009

Racing — Meb Keflezighi Sets 20k American Record, wins Rock N Roll Half-Marathon San Jose

Meb Keflezighi wins Rock N Roll San Jose 2009

Meb Keflezighi wins Rock N Roll San Jose 2009

San Jose, Calif –– American Meb Keflezighi set a new U.S. 20k record and bettered his personal best by 25 seconds winning the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon San Jose in a time of 1:01:00. Keflezighi’s 20k split of 57:52 broke Ryan Hall’s standing 20K record of 57:54 set in 2006.

“The other runners looked like they were struggling with the 4:30 pace early on, so I decided to leave the pack and go on my own,” said Keflezighi, who pulled a way from the pack just after mile 3, competing in a showdown against the clock. “It was a great atmosphere out there today; I just wanted to maintain a solid pace through 10 miles and then see what I had left. I ran a personal best by 25 seconds and I’m 34, so I am very excited with my performance.”

A 19-time U.S. Champion, Keflezighi’s half-marathon time ranks him number three all-time on the American list for a record standard course. He sits behind only Mark Curp’s 1:00:55 from 1985 and Ryan Hall’s American record 59:43 from 2007.

“As Roger Craig said ‘I did it today’ and it’s just nice to be healthy. I’m ready for New York and look forward to continuing my marathon training,” added Keflezighi, whose pending 20k record reclaimed the title he held before Hall. “My long term goal is London 2012 and I still I have a marathon PR in me. Today’s race proved that age doesn’t mean a thing.”

To continue reading, click here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

