Posted by: Joe English | July 20, 2010

Commentary — Breakthroughs Happen When You Least Expect Them

running-advice-bugI finally had a breakthrough and it came in the strangest of ways.

You see, my training has been going sort of up and down lately. I’ve been so busy that I’ve managed only a bare minimum of runs each week – perhaps three or four. The runs themselves have gone fine and I’ve been making sure to do the runs that count. So in a given week I make sure to do my speed work, a tempo run and a goal-paced run – but that’s about it. ‘No junk’ we often say on the blog and video series. Ain’t no junk here.

And the month of June was particularly killer in terms of travel. I spent three weekends coaching marathons, putting in an average of 35 miles – very slow miles – on each of those race days. That pretty much wrecked me and took away the time that I had for my own long runs.

So when I went into my most recent race, I really didn’t know what to expect. Usually I have a very specific plan, as we always encourage you to have. And having only done two goal paced 10-milers in preparation for this particular half-marathon, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was a little under-prepared. Or so I thought.

When I told Coach Dean about this race and described what happened, he said, “yep, that’s when breakthroughs happen. When you least expect them.” I’ll come back to that later.

To continue reading, click here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

