Posted by: Joe English | November 1, 2010

Short-answer Monday: Coming Back from a Setback

In our Short-answer Monday section today, we’re going to look at a question from a reader the experienced an injury and is now trying to resume training. Let’s look at the question first and then get down to business:


“Most recently I was training to run in the San Antonio Rock N Roll 1/2 marathon on November 14th, but after a car accident in early October, my training has come to a halt. I’ve accepted that I’m not going to be able to run the race, but I’m wondering where to go from here. I didn’t sustain any serious injuries, but I’ve been having some tightness in my lower back and it’s just about subsided. I think more than anything, I’ve experienced mental setbacks. I believe I’m ready to start running again, but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any advice on how to get back into running after having a setback that’s lasted almost a month? My highest mileage long run before the accident was 7 miles.”

Despite the fact that you were in a car accident, may I start this by saying that I am so happy to answer a question that involves an injury NOT sustained during running for a change! Seriously, I hope that you feel better soon and I hope that all others are OK. But other readers not that the principles here don’t change if this were a training related injury and an illness of some kind that knocks you out of your running program for a few weeks or more.

To continue reading, click here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

